Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 2,470
Рецензии: 633

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

CD

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 612 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: bisheng

Mar 08, 2016

I am at the third week, that is very well explained. Sometimes I may need to watch the video again, but in general I am very satisfied. I think it could be good both for people who want to learn and people who want to review.

автор: Anand P

Apr 10, 2016

Very illustrative relatable examples taken to explain in this course which indeed covering most of the concepts in the field of Statistics. Totally found the course very likeable and matching the expectations I had in mind.

автор: Simon K

May 03, 2019

Really well put together, they made it quite fun, produced at a high quality. However it not easy - there were some things that took me a lot of researching to understand. I guess that's the challenge of online learning...

автор: Ariane A

Apr 22, 2016

Great and clear videos, they make it very easy to understand all the concepts even if you don't know anything about the topic. The R-lab assignments are a great tool for getting usedt to working with what you have learned.

автор: Paul C

Sep 25, 2017

I have had to reschedule this course several times because of time constrains. However, now that I am picking it up to finish it I feel like for the first time in a statistics course I remember what I have learned so far.

автор: Hardik G

Sep 11, 2016

This is a brilliant course to learn statistics from scratch. The instructors are too good and their teaching methods and examples are very lucid. A must visit course for everyone who wants to get their statistics correct

автор: Faisal A

Jun 06, 2016

I am a physician... love this course. Highly recommend it. Even if you don't complete the tests, it is extremely useful to all physicians, residents and medical professionals and to anyone who wants to know statistics.

автор: Ian T J C

Feb 07, 2016

This course is an excellent, comprehensive, introduction to Stats. It is challenging, but in a very good way. Expectations are set sufficiently high that you need to grasp the concepts to succeed. Excellent MOOC!!

автор: Daniela F

Aug 01, 2016

Me parece un excelente curso, queda muy claro los temas en cada vídeo. Mi único problema ha sido la traducción de los términos en español, a veces necesito saber qué significa en español para entender totalmente.

автор: Jiajing G

Jun 15, 2018

The course gave me a broad view of the foundation and statistics. It offers much details and it is really fun to watch the videos! The quiz and R lab are efficient to assess our learning too. Highly recommended.

автор: Raghubir S

Jan 04, 2018

This course helped me to understand the basic concepts of Statistics. I would highly recommend everyone who has struggling with statistics concepts. I would like to say a big thank the instructors of the course.

автор: Pranay G

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.

Please allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

автор: Rosa A B G

Apr 27, 2018

SO AMAZING

I was a little afraid of statistics before I took this course and I thought it might get boring or very dry, but with a professor that great this is hardly possible!

I really loved it!

автор: Gustavo M V

Jun 12, 2016

It's a great course to learn basic statistics.

The course structure is clear and well ordered, and the video lectures are friendly and well explained.

I'm pleased with the course.

Thanks people

автор: Kuei C T

Feb 07, 2016

This course is very beneficial to me.

It explains the theory very clearly and lively that we can easily learn the concepts.

Beside, R-lab helps me about the R language. This is very important.

автор: Charudatta D

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

автор: Xinyao Z

Sep 01, 2019

This course can be challenging, but it is indeed a very useful course if you do not have any knowledge about statistics. R assignment is also useful for it saves time for calculation.

автор: Mariana A F

May 10, 2019

I loved the course. I completed it in just 2 weeks and learnt everything I was supposed to learn in my basic college courses and didn't quite fully understood or had already forgotten

автор: Shuwen Y

Jul 09, 2016

great intro class to statistics. Love the animation, teaching style and R lab exercises. The first class in coursera that video content and quiz are relevant. Highly recommended!!!

автор: Tiantian Z

Feb 26, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The teaching is straight and useful. Examples are very interesting and related to our daily life. I wound recommend this course to my friend!

автор: Jasper K

Oct 07, 2016

As a student of the UvA I have followed multiple courses on statistics as the university, and this coursera course comes very close to the level of those courses. (For free!)

автор: Tom W

Apr 20, 2016

Well structured course with engaging examples. I found the tests really helped me practice and learn the material. I will certainly take other courses in this specialization.

автор: Olena P

Oct 16, 2016

Absolutely amazing course with good humour and great pictures. You will get knowledge of Basics of Statistics which will stay with you for a long time after passing an exam.

автор: Alexia

Aug 26, 2016

Very good class for beginners, everything is well explained and illustrated with examples. I highly recommend this course for those who want to understand statistics easily

автор: Brendan B

Aug 05, 2017

This was a really well designed and delivered intro course to statistics. The way they discussed statistics in association with everyday topics made it easy to comprehend.