Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,617
Рецензии: 921

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG
20 апр. 2016 г.

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
28 янв. 2021 г.

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Фильтр по:

726–750 из 901 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Sree N

9 окт. 2019 г.

The majority of the course is super helpful in understanding Basic Stats. The only critique is that the advice/hints given in R-Lab are extremely unhelpful most of the time. Aside from this I recommend this course to anyone wanting a basic understanding of statistics .

автор: Suzanne D

22 авг. 2019 г.

I did not want to learn R as part of this course. It added work that was not necessary as I am proficient with a different program already. I was just interested in the information on the stats themselves and the R did not add value. It should be optional for all labs.

автор: Swapnil J

19 мар. 2016 г.

I really enjoyed attending this course and recommended it to my colleagues and friends who want to learn basic statistics. They have tried their best to make it more intuitive with some interesting examples and make the learning somewhat fun. kudos to the entire team!

автор: Cube A

17 окт. 2016 г.

Though it was mentioned that this course is for beginners without too much of statistics background, I still feel, some decent background is required to take up this course, particularly the Inference part.

Otherwise, the course is pretty good and commendable.

автор: Philip A E L

26 июня 2020 г.

Loved this class and it's very close to 5-star.

Some of the quiz questions were a little wonky and it's hard to get that information to you. I wish the little flag button reported to you instead of Coursera who doesn't want to pass on information to you.

автор: Chutian Z

4 апр. 2020 г.

i'm in favor of courses that are taught in a more serious (rather than funny). In addition, the instructor goes too fast at the confidence interval and hypothesis testing parts, which coincidentally are the most difficult sections of the whole course.

автор: Hannah D

1 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you for the great content!

Some feedbacks I have are - detailed explanations on the questions after passing the test would have been helpful. And having an online IDE to practice R on quiz or tests would have been fun - projects even better!

автор: R

2 нояб. 2017 г.

I loved this course i.e. the delivery and the content! However, using R was a bit complex but I was glad to be introduced to this software. More importantly, I actually understand the concepts of basic statistics now.

Thanks very much guys:-)

автор: John P M

10 дек. 2020 г.

The course is great. The videos lectures are educative. However, I did not expect to do statistics and coding at the same time. I was a bit shocked and it seriously drained me (because I am not good at coding) but it was a fun experience.

автор: Eric W

27 мар. 2020 г.

Good course. The instructors are strong and easy to listen to during the lectures/videos. I think sometimes in the R lab exercises, the syntax is challenging and distracts from the concept being covered. Overall - a very good course.

автор: Ronel A

1 окт. 2018 г.

The course content and videos were very good (and entertaining!), but the forum questions should have been answered more frequently. I also highly recommend using a Statistics textbook in collaboration with this course.

автор: David S

14 июня 2018 г.

I'd give this a 3.5/5, but I guess I'll round up. Professor Rooduijn did a good job. Professor van Loon was much harder to follow. While most of the teaching was fun and helpful, I wasn't a huge fan of the R lab.

автор: MBWE M A H

9 нояб. 2020 г.

I could have note 4 stars but no one is perfect except mothernature. More seriously I highly recommend this course for those who need a strong basis in stat. This course is just perfect, thanks to the professors

автор: Xiong W

25 мая 2018 г.

Pretty good overall arrangement of the topics and materials. But there are some problems with the content details. Overall it's a good course for somebody who is new to the subject or wants to refresh it.

автор: Zaid I P

11 июня 2019 г.

Taking up this course helped me get a crystal clear understanding of the statistics concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone who is trying to learn the basic concepts of statistics. Cheers!

автор: Sam H

18 авг. 2019 г.

Videos were good, quizzes were good at assessing knowledge. Didn't like the tool for answering question in R. Would much rather they just had you install R and RStudio and complete questions there.

автор: BISSAI R G

3 мая 2018 г.

Un cours simple, bien structure, bien redige et enseigne avec une pedagogie adaptee. Je le recommande vivement a tous ceux qui veulent acquerir et comprendre les notions de bases de la statistique

автор: Yasar M

10 апр. 2019 г.

It is not possible to revise the course by reading transcripts only. One has to go through all the videos. Otherwise, it is a very good course and explained in a very simple and easy manner.

автор: Renee W

10 апр. 2020 г.

This course was tought but it taught me basic statistics and how to use R. If you have never used thia programme before it might take a lot of time and perseverence, but I do recommend it.

автор: John N

25 янв. 2019 г.

took the free option. It has been good so far, learning a ton. I find the videos move quickly and after watching them I had to re-read the material, overall i would recommend this course.

автор: Amanda B R

28 авг. 2017 г.

Very Good course. I was pretty much satisfied.

R-lab can be improved and better explanations to help us on the test could have been given (after not passing the first time, for example).

автор: Pravin A J D

26 дек. 2018 г.

Essential to get started with statistics and/or machine learning. Explains basics is very easy way.

It would have been amazing to have examples and exercise in python languages as well.

автор: Sina M

18 апр. 2020 г.

Tutors explain the basic of statistics in a simple way. The only issue is sometimes they need to use more examples to make a better understanding of some specific parts of statistics.

автор: Jonas N

31 авг. 2017 г.

Good course with hands-on examples. Liked the balance between theory and practice. Good that one got to practice in R, even though the syntax was bit of a headache from time to time.

автор: Rafael d M B

13 июля 2020 г.

The first two modules are great. The other ones, not really. The knowledge about probability could be better thaught, since it is just formulas, formulas, formulas e little concept.