Chevron Left
Вернуться к Астротехнологии: наука и технологии, стоящие в основе астрономических открытий

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Астротехнологии: наука и технологии, стоящие в основе астрономических открытий от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 745
Рецензии: 206

О курсе

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Лучшие рецензии

EM

Jun 08, 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ

Sep 23, 2020

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 202 отзывов о курсе Астротехнологии: наука и технологии, стоящие в основе астрономических открытий

автор: Richard E

Jan 02, 2019

The professors were clear and well-articulated. It might have been my expectations but I had hoped for a deeper dive into the technology and more use of Math & Physics.

автор: Naresh K

Aug 05, 2020

It is a great course for beginners......And for undergraduates like me, its good to enter into the field of Astronomical observations and refresh some concepts.

автор: Shedeur P

Aug 01, 2019

Really REALLY enjoyed it! Just needs to utilize some animations but I loved it. Would make me consider applying for a Masters at University of Edinburgh

автор: Aravind R

Jul 04, 2017

Very interesting course serving as a good culmination point of technology and astronomy. Great for beginners on astronomy with a tech background.

автор: Mano M

May 10, 2020

Great Course .....Lovely way of presentation.......Liked it a lot !!!!!

Technological aspects of astronomy explained very well.

автор: Peter G

Mar 03, 2017

Really interesting material and well presented in digestible chunks by a pair of engaging professionals in the field.

автор: C S K

Sep 19, 2019

Please start an even more advanced course which uses and teaches the required math and its further applications

автор: Ethan S

Apr 03, 2017

Very well instructed and the videos are nice and short. Perfect as a side project or on the go learning.

автор: Shivangi G

May 16, 2020

Very satisfied course, professors teach very well about technology use in astronomy.

автор: Brian T

May 04, 2020

Very well done! I enjoyed the instructor's presentation and enthusiasm.

автор: marko t

Jan 30, 2018

Very useful course about astronomy and discovery of universe.

автор: ADITYA R K

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very informative course for those who love astronomy

автор: Maria M

Aug 13, 2020

I had a lot of information and amazing understanding

автор: Harish M A

Nov 02, 2017

Very informative i enjoyed the course .

автор: Dr. D S

Oct 28, 2019

The course is great, but too short.

автор: Adeem J

Apr 04, 2019

Quick learning. Excellent course.

автор: Subashchandrabose

Nov 22, 2019

Very useful coursefor beginners

автор: Fernando G M

May 21, 2017

Good teachers.

автор: rabinder h

Jul 02, 2017

GooD course

автор: Richard K

Aug 27, 2019

Well done

автор: SNEKA S 1

May 02, 2020

Good

автор: NITHIN R

Jul 13, 2018

good

автор: Shiva k

Aug 31, 2020

Thank you for the Introductory course which practically explained how the astronomical discoveries were studied and documented.

However, it would be even better to start from the actual plain output from a satellite/ telescope and the workflow involved from data interpretation, statistics, computational tools up to the presentation of such results in a scientific journal.

For an example exercise, 1) the detailed workflow on how the satellite data (numbers, intensity, voltage vs time readings?) from COBE were interpreted and presented in the final form of the famous image of CMB

2) The galaxy rotational rates(tools for measurement) and its steps leading to the hypothesis of dark matter.

автор: Kevin K

Jun 01, 2017

Interesting. Conveys the main ideas, but avoids the details (unfortunately).

автор: fozan t

Jan 21, 2018

Very easy and to the point course ,completed in 4 days.