Chevron Left
Вернуться к Asian Environmental Humanities: Landscapes in Transition

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Asian Environmental Humanities: Landscapes in Transition от партнера Цюрихский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 137
Рецензии: 37

О курсе

In this course, featuring many researchers from the University of Zurich and international institutions, we will introduce you to some of the most vibrant cultural trends addressing landscape appreciation, degradation, protection, and rehabilitation that currently circulate in the Asian hemisphere. You will learn about concepts of landscape in Asian religions, philosophy, social sciences, history and the arts and their reverberation in selected environmental projects in China, India and Japan. Furthermore, we will discuss how they are critically reflected upon in the context of the environmental humanities, and observe how an interdisciplinary approach towards regional ecosystems past and present reaches out beyond pragmatic technological solutions to mitigate environmental damage. Following us on our different paths and trajectories through the five modules of the course, you will encounter many of the reasons why environmental humanities study projects which strive to change people’s prevalent attitudes, values and behavioural patterns in order to redeem the rapidly globalizing crisis, and how they go about it. Having acquainted yourself with the stories Asia’s landscapes – and landscape representations – tell about actual and possible human-nature relationships, you can compare and evaluate their potential to bring about the desired change and define your own range of actions as an informed stakeholder for creating a sustainable future. What is arguably no less intriguing: you will learn how to appreciate a broad range of eco-aesthetic forms that re-enchant our lives by creatively interacting with the more-than-human world. You can follow the five modules of the course consecutively or just study the modules that interest you the most. If you want to earn a certificate, you need to complete all of the modules including the quizzes at the end of each module. THESE ARE THE TOPICS OF THE 5 MODULES OF THIS COURSE: Module 1: Concepts of landscape past and present and their cosmological underpinnings. Module 2: Entangled landscapes comprising cultural flows of concepts and forms, contemporary gardens on the move, nostalgic elegies of demolished sites and rural reconstruction projects. Module 3: Discussion of two religious communities in India (the Parsi-Zoroastrians and the Auroville community) and their relationship with the environment. Module 4: Environmental debates tackling religious concepts and social practices and the problem of waste disposal in India. Module 5: Environmental movements and the impact of Fukushima on attitudes towards nuclear energy in Japan, creative activism including arts projects and documentaries to protest against pollution and landscape degradation and raise environmental awareness in the Sinosphere, and emergent concepts for sustainable community life on the planet....

Лучшие рецензии

MN
8 нояб. 2020 г.

A rare course with abundant reference material as recommendations, got to learn so much about fellow Asian cultures and the fight to sustain environmental landscapes and natural resources...

NK
24 окт. 2019 г.

The course material is excellent, rich and intellectually stimulating. The videos and lectures are clear.\n\nThis course also provides learners with additional resources of great quality.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 37 отзывов о курсе Asian Environmental Humanities: Landscapes in Transition

автор: Nejma E K

25 окт. 2019 г.

The course material is excellent, rich and intellectually stimulating. The videos and lectures are clear.

This course also provides learners with additional resources of great quality.

автор: Alexandra M F M

22 окт. 2018 г.

This was a fantastic introduction to the intricate notions of Environmental Humanities. As a philosopher, this course has widened my views on landscapes and further enhanced my perception of interconnectedness. Thank you for a comprehensive, enlightening and wonderful course!

автор: John R

15 мар. 2019 г.

This was an excellent introduction to the Environmental Humanities in Asia. The combination of case studies and theory was outstanding. My only recommendation is to include more Southeast Asian content. Borneo was only mentioned briefly.

автор: Ruchi M

3 мая 2020 г.

Perfect blend of various cultures, religious beliefs and India's waste managements and ecological imbalances and Tiawan and Japan specific policy measures. It was great learning.

автор: Anna K

21 окт. 2018 г.

this course is necessary for most people who want to call themselves civilized

автор: YOGESHWARI S

24 июля 2020 г.

I have very much enjoyed learning this course. It has covered major environmental challenges faced by the Popular Asian countries of China, Japan and India. It touches upon the core environmental issue like (in case of India), how the environmental pollution could affect most adversely, the lowest rung of a given strata of population due to the practice of "purity and pollution" propagated by caste system. Similarly, the course has touched upon the subtle issue like how environment is perceived and has been portrayed by novelists, poets, landscape artists in the present time in relation to the earlier period. The course has done justice by giving equal emphasis to discuss both the complicated and subtle issues related to the theme "Asian Environmental Humanities: Landscapes in Transition". Wish Coursera would be a platform to enlighten millions of the people who are eager to learn and know such hidden knowledge!

автор: Diana P

22 сент. 2020 г.

The course compound cultural interactions and exchanges among East and West explain major environmental issues of the Asian countries as China, Japan, India, Taiwan and other. I very much enjoyed learning information via the video and reading sources. The course gives a full spectrum of viewpoints about the subject.

автор: Sabrina M

20 окт. 2020 г.

It is a very interesting and insightful approach to the narrative on environmentalism in Asia, with a holistic approach that covers philosophy, politics, sociology and area studies. I really enjoyed studying these topics, which expanded my knowledge and interest to further read and watch materials on this issue.

автор: Sheethal S N

13 сент. 2019 г.

The course was very helpful as it showcased how cultural, aesthetic and affective components can enhance environmental awareness and how these elements when incorporated into grass root movements can effectively counter and resist the current tendencies of environmental destruction.

автор: Lauren H

1 мая 2020 г.

Great course! The instructors are very informative and their lecture delivery is easy to follow. This course can easily be completed ahead of the set schedule as long as you remain disciplined and focused!

автор: Maybelline N

9 нояб. 2020 г.

A rare course with abundant reference material as recommendations, got to learn so much about fellow Asian cultures and the fight to sustain environmental landscapes and natural resources...

автор: Jeeva S

27 июля 2020 г.

The course obviously served as a great learning experience on topics that are not spoken about a lot in today's era.

автор: Poonam S

8 авг. 2020 г.

Very well created and presented course. Gives overview on a broad topic. learnt a lot.

автор: CHATURYA B

27 мая 2020 г.

Thank you so much , very sensitive topics are discussed in this course,it was helpful.

автор: Shakti s j

30 авг. 2020 г.

A very informative course with lots of varied dimensions to study and research.

автор: Juhi P

24 авг. 2020 г.

All sub topics were very well integrated together.

автор: Ana R P

16 янв. 2019 г.

The course is very informative a lot to learn.

автор: Vaibhavi K

20 сент. 2020 г.

A VAEY GOOD COURSE. THANKS COURSERA.

автор: Paccelli Z

26 сент. 2018 г.

Excellent course!

автор: Watchareeporn K

14 окт. 2020 г.

Awesome course.

автор: Ши м

4 апр. 2020 г.

good,i like

автор: GLORIYA V

22 июля 2020 г.

Good

автор: Vivek S

29 мая 2020 г.

Very Good Course highlighting the importance of Environmental Humanities in today's needs to protect our Mother Earth. A perfect mix of art, history, culture, religion, facts, society, and environment. Lovely Instructor Dr. Andrea, who helps us to understand the weights of such awareness in the present scenario.

автор: Anika H

6 июня 2020 г.

I am happy that finally I have submitted it.But, I think rather than political issues, We could have discussed more about the eco-sustainability. Otherwise, It was a great experience. I am grateful to Coursera to give me a better platform to learn more effectively.

автор: Richard J

9 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is far beyond 5 stars. It approaches the ideas for creating a truly new human/earth relationship that is the basis for an ecological civilizatin and a shared future for humanity. I have taken many Coursera courses and this course is by far not only the most engagin, but also the most challenging. This approach, linking various media elements including poetry and films, history and religious elements, is truly extraordinary and unique. I am the Dean of United Nations Non-governmental representatives over 40 years and this approach is only matched by the approach of the American Teilhard Association in its Yale Coursera offerings, which are fine ancillaries to this course. Professor Dr. Riemenschnitter is a great instructor. I would only suggest more modules on the art historical narrative, it is most engaging, as is the Swiss garden worth a second unit.