Chevron Left
Вернуться к At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Отзывы учащихся о курсе At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC от партнера Римский университет Ла Сапиенца

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 373
Рецензии: 151

О курсе

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Лучшие рецензии

CH

13 мар. 2021 г.

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA

9 авг. 2017 г.

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings

but the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 151 отзывов о курсе At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

автор: Judith M S

1 мая 2018 г.

Really interesting course! The quizz needs some improvements in terms of grammar (some questions/answers are difficult to understand). Thank you!!

автор: Rafael M

7 янв. 2019 г.

Bom curso, o professor é querido, mas muitas vezes pareceu mais uma série de leituras de relatórios arqueológicos do que uma aula de história

автор: Federico C

8 окт. 2018 г.

Great course. I enjoy the most when a Proffesor talks about his passion, like in this case. 5 stars if the Proffesor spoke better English.

автор: David B

21 февр. 2021 г.

Interesting and informative. Both wide ranging in detail and narrow in outlook since in mainly concentrates on one site. Enjoyed this.

автор: Shiva P P

4 авг. 2020 г.

Please try concentrating on the clarity of the subtitles. It was too difficult to follow the professor without the correct subtitles.

автор: Karen W

28 апр. 2020 г.

It was very interesting. It was sometimes hard to understand what the Professor was saying and the written notes didn't always help.

автор: 王一岚

12 июня 2022 г.

Thank you Prof. Nigro! I learned a lot from this course! The only regret is that the subtitles are not 100% correct.

автор: David J H

16 апр. 2019 г.

A very interesting course with lots of information. The translations were at times a little challenging.

автор: nancy d

3 июля 2022 г.

​This course has really sparked my interest in archaeolog. I would like to take it to the next level.

автор: Anton B

24 июля 2021 г.

A very interesting course which contributed further to my little knowledge on the island of Motya.

автор: Isabel G C

7 нояб. 2019 г.

Muy interesante y útil, aunque un poco confusas algunas explicaciones y preguntas de los test

автор: Rebeca P M

21 авг. 2017 г.

It is a very interesting course to know the Phoenician city of Motya.

автор: Charles B

30 авг. 2020 г.

was well paced would have liked a little more history

автор: Dennis W

2 июня 2018 г.

My first try at a subject like this. Very well done.

автор: Benedict S

6 июля 2020 г.

5/5 Lorenzo Nigro

4/5 content

3/5 translation

автор: Richard K

11 янв. 2018 г.

interesting story of archaeology

автор: Julie B

13 апр. 2019 г.

T

автор: Kathy S

15 июня 2022 г.

Fascinating topic, and Professor Nigro was inspirational in his enthusiasm and professionalism. But those transcripts!! No sign of having been proof-read, let alone edited! So many instances of [INAUDIBLE] or [FOREIGN]; words spelt so incorrectly that the meaning was unclear - for example, the course discussed the Phoenician settlement of Motya, but there were at least 5 different spellings of this name; the names of the various pottery types were impossible to decipher. Professor Nigro's accent was a bit tricky, but his enthusiasm made up for that. Yes, I know you have to use a computerised tool to produce these transcripts, but surely someone could take a bit of time to proof-read? What the computer produced was a complete mess, an insult both to learners, and a betrayal of Professor Nigro's professionalism. I would have given 5 stars had the transcripts been better.

автор: Trudy L

9 февр. 2021 г.

The pictures of the artifacts, the maps and views of the site are all excellent. I found it challenging at times to get the jest of what was being said. Never the less I enjoyed the history lesson.

автор: Claudia M

6 июня 2022 г.

The course is very interesting, but the instructor really speaks a very poor English and sometimes it is not easy to understand what he is saying.

автор: Alexandra E

22 сент. 2019 г.

Aimed at experienced archaeology students who want a deep-dive into this one particular topic.

автор: Oscar T

29 нояб. 2018 г.

The videos are excellent but the choice of lectures and the quiz need more work.

автор: Christian W

1 июня 2019 г.

Pro: - Some facts presented are interesting.

Cons: - Most content is too related about a specific dig find, too few general context.

-Prof has strong accent and English subtitles were *extremely* bad (did a machine do that???).

-Video cutting and script felt done overnight: some bad cuts, some segments are repeated on several occasions in the video

-Female students shouldn't be treated as decorations!

автор: Fred I

26 мар. 2018 г.

The instructor's English was difficult to understand at times. The written text regarding the spoken had many errors