Chevron Left
Вернуться к Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods от партнера Датский технический университет (DTU)

4.6
Оценки: 667
Рецензии: 152

О курсе

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Лучшие рецензии

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Фильтр по:

126–149 из 149 отзывов о курсе Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

автор: Alejandro M M

Aug 14, 2017

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

автор: Matt K (

Aug 06, 2017

Interesting and informative. Thank you

автор: zhanxw

Apr 24, 2017

Overall, the course contents is useful. If course slides can be provided, that'll be extra helpful.

автор: Fabio L F

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent content with a rich subject giving us good basis to explore and learn more on the subject and apply the acquired knowledge into many different fields.

автор: Simone P

Jul 03, 2017

Nice.

автор: Jewellia T

Dec 22, 2016

Very educational course, however the lectures are very lull and do not hold attention well.

автор: SAYARI D

Dec 31, 2017

Great set of teachers. This course has really helped me in clearing my concepts on Antimicrobial resistance- mechanisms and testing methods.

автор: Adhiambo L O

May 02, 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was quite informative and good in introducing some concepts for me like the QA/QC/QM topic that I was not very familiar with. A good follow-up would be to present a course on how to build laboratory capacity in this area for countries wanting to get better at AST. I would also suggest that some of the presentations be shortened particularly those which will be presented in much more detail later to avoid the doubling up of information eg like the section on methods were covered almost twice for some material. Also, I would like to suggest use of practical examples when trying to explain these concepts. I thought you presented them well but for better understanding, use practical case study examples showing how you handle the situation in the lab. For example, provide us with when these methods are applied so they are not just random.

Thank you for this course and I look forward to your follow-up course.

автор: Abel P G

Aug 05, 2016

Really great, a little more specificity on the subjects (More time) would be even better.

автор: Lydia S

Feb 26, 2017

I did like to course very much. However, the in the last video, although the lecturer tried to speak clearly, I didn't understand all things very well.

автор: Leandro C

Dec 04, 2016

This course is very interesting but in some points it get repetitive and it gets boring. I recommend to reduce some videos and not to say the same thing too many time even when it's very important

автор: PaulaNakase

Aug 16, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, being a complete novice i found it challenging to understand some of the technical terms but learnt alot.

автор: Nausheen f

Jun 03, 2017

it was a nice introduction to antimicrobial resistance and how they can be countered. Some parts of the course at the end go into detail which might get boring for someone who just wants to get basic information. Overall, a good starter course!

автор: hodan

Feb 26, 2017

This class was very much eye-opening as I have gained knowledge and experience

автор: BRUNA C L

Mar 26, 2019

I miss more reference articles during the course.

автор: LIDIA

Oct 08, 2016

Es un curso interesante, aunque le faltan lecciones que realmente expliquen el trabajo real del laboratorio. Pero da muchos conceptos básicos mas desarrollados que nunca viene mal recordar o ampliar con información más actual.

автор: Gabriela C

Oct 11, 2016

I loved the first three weeks for the really well presented background information. Weeks 4 and 5 did not give me any further interesting knowledge. I also missed lectures on qPCR, NGS and other molecular methods for the detection of antibiotic resistance genes, as these methods are up and coming. Overall, thank you for setting up this course

автор: Alejandra D J

Oct 28, 2017

The course is basic and easy to follow. It often felt repetitive

автор: Sara R

Dec 08, 2016

The course is really interesting and I found it really useful. However, there are lots of repetitive lectures and I think they could be grouped and summarized or even expanded for topics avoiding the repetitions.

автор: Yashvant R

Nov 10, 2016

excellent for me and my carrier

автор: Shabnam M T

Apr 21, 2017

Thank you so much for the interesting course. My thesis in master was on Antibacterials and (and more subjects) I am much interested in Microbiology. I am going to continue my PhD in Microbiology and this course was a kind of review for me with some new details. Especially ResFinder was really interesting to me. Thank you so much for the class.

автор: Henrique

Aug 13, 2016

lectures are too long, it lacks clinical correlation.

the course focus only technical lab issues, when you look for antimicrobial resistance course, the last thing that you need is tech theory. Of course that some concepts are needed in order to provide fundamental basis, but the main goal is and always will be how to interpret antibiograms and infere the most probable mechanism of resistance. So there is a need for clinical correlation. If its not present, the course should be entitled "Laboratory methods for antimicrobial resistance"

автор: Mark

Jan 23, 2017

Content was good, but occasionally VERY hard to understand the lecturers' English. Worth taking though.