Chevron Left
Вернуться к Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods от партнера Датский технический университет (DTU)

4.6
stars
Оценки: 732
Рецензии: 163

О курсе

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Лучшие рецензии

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 160 отзывов о курсе Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

автор: Sylvia s

Dec 16, 2019

It is well taught.

автор: Maria C P

May 21, 2019

exelente! gracias!

автор: Jose W M

May 05, 2019

Excelent lectures

автор: 徐进

Jul 05, 2017

very good course

автор: Stavroula T

May 19, 2017

Verdy intersting

автор: Daniel s z

Sep 10, 2017

EXCELENTE CURSO

автор: cristian

Apr 22, 2017

excelente curso

автор: Malshi O G

Sep 29, 2019

really helpful

автор: Yuanyuan L

Jan 08, 2019

very useful

автор: vishnu m s

Nov 15, 2018

Excellent!

автор: Dulce A C B

Feb 08, 2019

excelent!

автор: Antonio C A

Dec 06, 2018

excelente

автор: Miriam E B

Mar 29, 2018

Excelente

автор: Ricardo E A S

Aug 17, 2017

Excelente

автор: VICTOR F Y A

Nov 04, 2016

muy bueno

автор: Jaime E

Nov 28, 2016

exlente

автор: Adhiambo L O

May 02, 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was quite informative and good in introducing some concepts for me like the QA/QC/QM topic that I was not very familiar with. A good follow-up would be to present a course on how to build laboratory capacity in this area for countries wanting to get better at AST. I would also suggest that some of the presentations be shortened particularly those which will be presented in much more detail later to avoid the doubling up of information eg like the section on methods were covered almost twice for some material. Also, I would like to suggest use of practical examples when trying to explain these concepts. I thought you presented them well but for better understanding, use practical case study examples showing how you handle the situation in the lab. For example, provide us with when these methods are applied so they are not just random.

Thank you for this course and I look forward to your follow-up course.

автор: Sangeeth S

Oct 10, 2017

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

автор: Roshan N

Oct 05, 2017

A nearly perfect course hat gave me entirely new perspective on how antibiotic research are done. What I studied at my university war far less than what is presented here. Much thanks to the instructors and professors who made this course possible. Also thanks to everyone working behind the scene to make the study material available and accessible. Highly recommended to every single person who wants insights on AMR crisis and AMR research.

Eagerly waiting more course from the team and DTU.

автор: Alejandro M M

Aug 14, 2017

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

автор: Yuri T C

Apr 10, 2017

Good course, gives a good notion of the basics. Very technical (as in it emphasizes more the technical part of antimicrobial testing) and basic (in the theoretical part). I'm an MD student, currently on my final year. The course brought up new aspects to the antibiogram that I was oblivious about, something that I think is very important for the modern-age physician.

автор: Nausheen F

Jun 03, 2017

it was a nice introduction to antimicrobial resistance and how they can be countered. Some parts of the course at the end go into detail which might get boring for someone who just wants to get basic information. Overall, a good starter course!

автор: Malarkodi

Dec 27, 2018

Loved the lectures till Week 4 given by Lina Cavaco. I have no prior background in biology hence those were easy to understand. Week 5 lectures got more technical and I could not understand them.

A great course for understanding basics!

автор: Leandro C

Dec 04, 2016

This course is very interesting but in some points it get repetitive and it gets boring. I recommend to reduce some videos and not to say the same thing too many time even when it's very important

автор: cristina c d

Dec 05, 2017

I found it a really good course, useful from the basic topics to the more complex ones. I will recommend it undoubtedly to anyone who would be interested in antimicrobial resistance.