Chevron Left
Вернуться к Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods от партнера Датский технический университет (DTU)

4.6
stars
Оценки: 735
Рецензии: 164

О курсе

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Лучшие рецензии

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 161 отзывов о курсе Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

автор: ELOI D S M

Aug 14, 2017

Excelente curso, parabéns pela iniciativa e proporcionar a todo o mundo conhecimento de qualidade e com certeza agregara uma gama de conhecimento a todos os envolvidos.

автор: UMAMAHESWARA R

Mar 05, 2017

It was really a nice course, and it would help me from recollecting the past experience.

My sincere thanks to the Madams, who delivered their valuable speech.

автор: Lance R

Feb 19, 2018

Great course! Really helpful if you have anything to do with testing antimicrobial resistance in the lab or if you just want to learn more about the topic.

автор: Andrea G T P

Oct 15, 2016

I feal so amazed by all the information, is a complete course and i would like to learn more about antimicrobial resistance. Thank you professor Lina <3

автор: Rafshan J

Feb 01, 2019

One of the fine course for developing basics as well as advanced level of antimicrobial resistance.Very co-operative,easy instructions to understand.

автор: Adnan S

Jan 18, 2017

The last two weeks are a bit DENSE. Especially Week 4. Bring your Brain power. But a course worth learning from for relevant skills to use in lab.

автор: Alessandro B

May 06, 2017

Very useful course! Thank Lina Cavaco for the great job. All the work of DTU is actually a reliable guide in testing antimicrobial resistance.

автор: José M C F

Aug 25, 2017

Great course!

It gave the necessary tools to improve myself on developing new projects related to the antimicrobial evaluation.

Thanks a lot!!

автор: Harry A

May 11, 2017

Thanks for the great insight in the subject of antimicrobial resistance. It's one of the best course I have ever taken. Excellent lecturing.

автор: Salvatore F

Apr 13, 2018

Hi thanks for the excelent course. I received 2 weeks ago an email requesting my dates for the certification but I havent received it yet

автор: Hafiz M T M

Jul 11, 2019

It was great learning experience for me. Great course beautifully designed and well explained by the tutors. thank you coursera

автор: amany e b

Jul 02, 2017

dr lina cavaco is awesome her illustrants and data show helps me greatly in understanding the subject , thanks dr cavaco

автор: shamsi a s s

Nov 11, 2018

coursera and DTU course one of the best thing happen to my professional life

thank you all for this wonderful work

автор: xiaoxia z

Nov 30, 2016

Nice introduction course but with substantial amount of useful materials and knowledge! Excellent presentations!

автор: Sofija K

Apr 22, 2018

If you are beginner in microbiology world or if you want to brush on some basics, this is a course for you.

автор: Faji O R

Jun 23, 2017

The course is really good for an holistic understanding of how microorganisms manage to survive treatments.

автор: Paulina C P

Apr 08, 2019

Un Curso Excelente para introducirse al tema y aclarar las dudas que salen durante la práctica diaria.

автор: Samuel E I

Mar 18, 2018

The course is very insightful and offers practical knowledge to antimicrobial susceptibility testing.

автор: Rohul A

Jul 23, 2019

Great course that enrich my knowledge and ideas about antimicrobial resistanc, I recommend it highl.

автор: Jesús

Jun 21, 2019

Un curso muy bueno donde aprendes grandes cosas, felicito a todos los que impartieron el curso-

автор: Michelle V C

Oct 31, 2016

Excellent course, looking forward to do other courses from the DTU in antimicrobial resistance.

автор: Yonatan R A

Aug 28, 2018

Very useful information, both general and specific, if a bit light on clinical applications.

автор: Eliana Q

Oct 23, 2019

HE aprendido nueva información y ha sido de una forma bastante fluida y fácil de asimilar.

автор: Nada H A G

Dec 07, 2019

It was a pleasure for me to learn this valuable information from professional instructors

автор: Thiago S

Jan 30, 2017

The course covers all points about antimicrobial resistance in a simple and complete way.