Chevron Left
Вернуться к Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
Оценки: 557
Рецензии: 151

О курсе

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

Лучшие рецензии

JC

Apr 02, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

TO

Jun 21, 2016

I thought this would be a fun simple class, but I DID NOT know anything about marine reptiles, and it showed. I learned a lot and this instruction was very helpful and very educational.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 145 отзывов о курсе Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

автор: Marcus V B C

Sep 03, 2017

Excepcional!!!...fantástico!...eu aprendi muito mesmo!!

автор: Timi A

May 25, 2018

Great short course, perfect for an introduction to ancient marine reptiles. I recommend taking the other Palaeontology courses by this university on this site if you haven't already.

автор: Siddhant I

Apr 12, 2018

i enjoyed the videos and lectures a lot, especially the sauropterygians and mosasauroids, as they are one of my favorite aquatic reptiles. through this course, i could learn a lot of extra information on the anatomy of a reptile as well as how intelligently they were adapted to ocean life.

the sir who was teaching us was excellent. i was totally engrossed into the videos and did not get distracted a minute. even the in-video quiz and the phylogenetic tree was amazing and let me apply my critical thinking and logic to solve it and also to analyse the tree.

but one problem was that whenever i posted a new thread on the Discussion Forum, no one responded to my queries.

apart from this the experience was excellent, and i want to thank the instructor who made my journey through this course very interesting!

автор: Chris V

Jul 19, 2017

Another awesome MOOC by University of Alberta. The provided material is on point and easy to follow and understand and the videos presented by Scott are brilliant as well. Definitely recommend this course to anyone even slightly interested in palaeontology and it really makes me regret my choice of studies. :D

автор: matthew b

Aug 16, 2017

Great class, learned a lot!

автор: Francesco N

Mar 01, 2018

I really liked how this course explained how paleontologists work, how they have to reason on different morphologies, even if they don't always have complete organisms. The acquatic problem is a fascinating issue and I think it has been well described in this course.

автор: fernando g u

May 12, 2018

Por fin comencé a vislumbrar el problema acuático de nuestros antepasados ​​más lejanos. El espectacular árbol filogenético.

Gracias

автор: Carlos G

Jul 10, 2017

Very good

автор: Lawrence L

Oct 07, 2016

Splending. Awesome. Ivy league.

автор: Eugene Y

Feb 01, 2017

I've just finish this course and it is the last one for me in the series of the paleontology courses provided by University of Alberta. And I must say, I'm simply blown away by all these courses! The topics covered are absolutely fascinating, the material presentation exceeded all my expectations and Scott Persons, the presenter, is probably the most engaging teacher I've ever seen, absolutely perfect at holding attention and delivering the material.

I liked the way the course is structured - individually following the evolutionary tree of all three major groups. It's really interesting to see how evolution worked out for them.

The material itself isn't short of terminology so it's treats listeners seriously, providing nitty-gritty details of how the evolution process took place, I really appreciate that. And it's never overdone, so a person without a special knowledge background can go through course just fine. Although it won't hurt to start these courses with Dino 101 first :)

Interactive materials are a very nice touch and a welcome addition to excellent videos and great lecture notes. Loved the use of fossils as well, it's a joy to get a look at some treasures a university like this has in their possession.

Hopefully, the staff behind these courses will be able to find an opportunity and new topics to continue to share knowledge about that mesmerizing time of prehistoric life. Until then, many thanks to all of them!

автор: Michelle P

Jul 25, 2016

great course! Fun and interesting

автор: James M

Dec 10, 2016

This was a most informative course. and for me. not an easy one by any means. For an under-graduate, I would say is essential. Well done! And thank you!

автор: Martina K

May 05, 2017

The best course I have ever taken online! Great studying, quality nad quantity of materials...really enjoyed it. Since we do not have lessons on this topic ar the university and we get only basic palentology information so we can understand todays animals, this was a great way to deepen and upgrade the knowledge . Thanks!

автор: Bruno M P

Jul 22, 2017

Satisfied all my expectations. Thank you so much.

автор: Arturo M

May 27, 2017

Excellent course presented by Scott. His extremely well and funny way explanations made this course both enjoyable and educational. I want to thank Mr. Scott and all the team from University of Alberta to present these amazing themes of science to understand better our incredible planet with these beautiful creatures.

автор: Paul A

Apr 25, 2018

An excellently presented course.

автор: Charlotte T

Apr 02, 2018

Great course, notes are well written and videos easy to understand. Very informative!

автор: Pablo A T S

Jan 14, 2017

The subtitles once not match with the avance of the video.

автор: Graham F

Mar 12, 2017

Wow, what a fantastic course. Well structured and very well presented by a very knowledgeable palaeontologist. I cannot recommend this course enough.

автор: Jamie B

Aug 04, 2017

Very informative and easy to understand, with key concepts repeated throughout the course

автор: Joel A C

Apr 02, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

автор: Andrew E

Oct 04, 2016

This is a fascinating journey into the evolution of ancient marine reptiles. if you're a fan of paleontology and ancient animal life like I am, this course is for you. It's really well done and you won't regret it.

автор: Joshua G

Oct 19, 2016

Visualmente muy entretenido

Si te gustan la paleontología y los grandes reptiles no lo dudes

автор: Morgan E " P

Feb 09, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal course! Would recommend a million times over to anyone interested in this subject. I'm even looking into applying to the UofA after going through their wonderful MOOC's, well run, and interesting, wonderful course notes to supplement the clean, information packed, video lessons. Loved the interactive material too! The interactive phylogenetic tree was a lifesaver, I spent hours on that thing just reading up and looking around.

автор: Bruno N A

Oct 17, 2017

Excelente! Super completo!