Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 2,756
Рецензии: 631

О курсе

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Лучшие рецензии

TP
3 июля 2016 г.

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

IT
6 нояб. 2018 г.

I was pleased by the quality of this course. I really learned how to use tableau and the tips on researching and presenting were well founded. The teachers were positive and hard working. Thank you!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 617 отзывов о курсе Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

автор: Ponciano R

12 июня 2018 г.

Great course!!!!

автор: Enes D

3 февр. 2016 г.

Awesome course!

автор: NI J

11 февр. 2019 г.

Good tutorial

автор: Daniel R H

27 янв. 2016 г.

Very complete

автор: Joanne Y Z

15 янв. 2016 г.

Great class!

автор: David E

28 июля 2016 г.

excellent

автор: Daniel G M P

2 июня 2017 г.

Excelent

автор: M. J J G M

18 июля 2017 г.

Great!

автор: Adeyemi A

28 дек. 2018 г.

good

автор: Dohun K

15 сент. 2020 г.

The contents were good. But if there was designated teaching assistance who could responsibly answer questions on the forum, the learning would have been much easier. Also, some contents in the video were built for the old versions of Tableau. Hence, some of them did not really align with the newest version so that I could not perform on the Tableau.

автор: Jacquelynn

24 сент. 2020 г.

Overall, I learned alot about how to use Tableau in this class. I had never used it before starting. A few items about the course though that need fixing/updating. First, the version of Tableau that I was using differed at times from what the instructor was doing on her screen. Specifically, when doing calculations in week 3, the version she was using was much more user friendly than what my version offered. For someone new to using this tool it was a challenge to figure out how to work around that issue. Also, many of the additional reading links provided were outdated and did not work. I was also unpleasantly surprised that I would post a question and not receive an answer. It seems that someone associated with this class should be available to answer questions (and instead of saying, that was answered in a previous post--there are literally pages upon pages--just help the students so they can move along). Lastly, for the final project the suggested recording software "Jing" is no longer available as of 2020 so the instructor might want to find a new acceptable recording tool to use, then update the presentation and update the instructions in the assignment. One note about course grading.......In the previous course in this specialization, when it came time to peer review assignments, assignments automatically popped into a queue for review however in this course, peer grading felt like a free for all where you had to grade someones work and try to get them to grade yours. Ultimately, I got mine graded but it seems this process shouldn't be a free for all because then there is no accountability for who gets graded.

автор: Cao D S K

13 февр. 2020 г.

The teacher often speaks wayyy too fast, makes me had some hard time keeping up with what she is saying as I'm not a native English speaker. Some exercises are hard to comprehend their meaning. But overall the course was good, I sure learnt lot of things and enjoyed it.

автор: Qing Z

23 авг. 2020 г.

The course contents are good, the teacher taught interestingly, but the question replying in the course forum is really bad! From the business view, this tells us how horrible customer service can ruin a perfect product!

автор: Bertrand J d

10 мар. 2016 г.

This course may be misleading aspiring data analysts and scientists: it may give the false impression that, with the tools learned here, you will be able to analyze your data by yourself. In fact, you would be completely missing on large chapters of statistics and, as a result, you would often end up drawing wrong conclusions and believe you did a great job. For example, what is the point of giving you a single 10-minutes video on how to do regression in Tableau if you don't even know regression (which is AT LEAST a one-term course in graduate school, and only after several other prior basic stats courses)? BEWARE: get a much larger background in statistics before applying anything you learn here in real life. Some minimal stats knowledge should be recommended as a pre-requisite for this course, or else you end up doing like those monkeys using a statistical software without really understanding what they are doing and drawing conclusions with blissful ignorance. The problem is: some of your audience will know and will notice, more often than you might think and you will end up looking like an idiot.

Sorry to be negative here, but I think I owe you, my co-student, at least a warning: do learn more stats elsewhere!! ... good luck.

автор: Elina V

11 сент. 2020 г.

The professor makes a good effort to explain the course material in a logical and engaging manner.

The weekly assignments, however, are poorly worded and have mistakes (like a wrong file name which entails learners continuously asking on the forum about where to find it). Despite the fact that these assignments are "not graded", the actual quizzes are based directly on them, so they are critical. It's a course on Tableau and the assignments don't have a single screenshot which would have been so much more helpful than 2 paragraphs of text explaining which menu you have to click on.

Moreover, I counted 39 moderators/teaching staff listed on the Discussions Forum, however there was NO SINGLE ANSWER from the teaching staff posted there for over a month. In other words, don't count on any support. Peers do try to help each other, but it's not enough.

Overall, the course is useful, no doubt, I am glad that I completed it, but it's too painful to get through, let alone the whole specialization.

автор: Claudio S

18 февр. 2020 г.

Do not like the fact that audio has to be recorded for final assignment

автор: Luis d M O

9 янв. 2016 г.

Videos fine. Quizes require hours.

автор: Eason Y

30 июля 2018 г.

Peer grade dramatically slows down my graduation speed!!

автор: Kaweerat P

8 июня 2020 г.

I signed up with an intention to develop technical skills on Tableau, knowing that it’s arguably the most popular tool in today’s business, and was very satisfied with the course but ended up learning much more that I expected.

Jana (the lecturer) made sure that all students have the right analytics mindset and are well equipped with essential storytelling skills in order to become a successful Data Analyst.

She took a substantial amount of time to provide us with tips and tricks to deliver a compelling presentation which I found very useful and applicable to my current work.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in developing their Data Analytics, Data Visualization and Effective Presentation skills.

Thank you Jana, Duke University and Coursera for this amazing course!

автор: kamalakannan

9 окт. 2020 г.

One of the best course to learn tableau from basics to do the final project.

Design of the course was excellent. They prepared the syllabus based on the Industry standards.Right from week 1, they taught how to approach data as a data analyst,and slowly introduced the basics of tableau in week 2. They taught all important features like creating calculation field,building dashboards and story in week 3. Couldn't able to understand all those concepts in single week. In week 4, it was full of videos describing about how to give presentation as a data analyst before stakeholders,one of the necessary skills for data analyst.In week 5, they asked us to build a final project for dognition and it was cool.

Overall,it's a great course to learn about tableau!

автор: Alexander K B

19 нояб. 2020 г.

Jana is a wonderful instructor. She keeps us entertained with her humor and knowledge. I appreciate that she really goes the extra mile in explaining the cause and effect of the different options in Tableau. The exercises are engaging and enlightening. This course will teach you not only Tableau but also how to give an effective business presentation and how to structure a data analysis project. You really get more than you pay for in this course. I felt that the course itself was 5/5 stars. After using PowerBI (a competing data visualization app) the switch to Tableau was at times frustrating. Tableau seems to have a high learning curve and I would very much appreciate Jana teaching another Tableau course at the intermediate-advanced level.

автор: Olga K

31 янв. 2016 г.

Really great course! Very well organized, material is engaging and really well presented.

Covers everything you need to know to get started with Tableau (hands on!). If you already work with Tableau, will be quite easy for you to complete the course, but you may still learn a few cool tricks from Jana.

I also really liked the first week of the course where Jana went over the general concepts of being a good data analyst. They aren't shocking or extremely eye opening, but nonetheless it is very important to truly understand. I found it interesting the way she presented them.

Great job with the course! Most engaging course I personally tried on Coursera so far :)

автор: Rico T

12 мая 2020 г.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this online course! I have a family member seriously ill with covid-19 right toward the end of my sessions ; having to switch priorities ; missed my last session deadline. I was pleasantly surprised that i could actually reset my deadline thankfully.

I am looking at another two weeks of family care and will resume my final exam as soon as I can devote time back to the course.

Thank you so much for the clear and concise training narration, videos and examples. Especially thanks for the flexibility to reset a deadline so i can resume when I can focus on completing my final session :)

автор: Wayan R W

21 апр. 2020 г.

Being one of the toughest course I've accomplished in Coursera, this course offers not only tutorials and hands-on experience of data analysis with Tableau, but also how to present and deliver your analysis to the stakeholders. Module quizzes are tough too, don't expect to just rewatch the video to complete the tests as you have to work through it. If you are only looking for Tableau tutorials this course isn't for you, but if you want to hone your analytical and communication skills I can say this one is definitely worth trying.

автор: Melissa P

21 июня 2016 г.

This is an excellent course. You are given a six month license to use Tableau as well as practice data for the assignments and exercises. It is very practical and informative. It covers more than just Tableau. The first week is about framing data questions and working with stakeholders. The second and third week cover Tableau. The last week gives some very helpful tips for giving effective presentations. The final assessment will go over all of these things, so be prepared to put them to use if you want the final certificate.