Chevron Left
Вернуться к Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,252
Рецензии: 801

О курсе

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Лучшие рецензии

KS
13 сент. 2018 г.

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
26 мая 2020 г.

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Фильтр по:

751–775 из 782 отзывов о курсе Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

автор: 张之晗(ZhiHan Z

27 авг. 2017 г.

so challenging

автор: Nguyen K T

29 июня 2019 г.

very hard

автор: Prachi M

25 июня 2017 г.

Excellent

автор: E.Naveen K

30 нояб. 2016 г.

Great

автор: Bianca D

26 янв. 2019 г.

Took me way more than 7 hours/week to go through course materials and complete the problem sets and programming assignments. Closer to 10. In general the estimates for how much time each assignment takes is way off (often claiming on the order of minutes, when the reality is for most students (myself included) it is likely on the order of hours).

That said, the programming assignments were challenging and fun (especially trying to do them in JavaScript), and I feel much more comfortable with recursion and Big-Oh.

The forums for the current session are not very active, but there are a lot of old posts from past offerings of the course, and I found that most of the time others had similar questions to me.

The textbook was helpful, but it pretty much has the same content as the lectures with maybe some extra practice and challenge problems. Unfortunately not all solutions to those problems are available, which can be very frustrating (I noticed at least one practice problem with no solution was used on the final exam, so that’s probably why...).

This course is a little more academic than practical in my opinion as a software engineer, but you have to start somewhere.

автор: TAI C W

1 янв. 2020 г.

The idea and the content are excellent in terms of mathematic analysis. I would recommend people who want to do software engineering or computer science to pick up this course. However, I couldn't give stars higher than three because the videos aren't cut well; After week 2, a lot of written explanations in the video don't follow the audio; i.e., The teacher speaks faster than his writing. That is extremely confusing, and I have to go back to the lecture and read the subtitles back and forth a lot of times, to fully absorb the ideas. Otherwise, it's an outstanding lesson, and I recommend students to download the optional textbooks to get a better understanding.

автор: ALI A H

19 июля 2020 г.

for programming assignment please ask two question for each assignment

for example you ask to count no. of comparison in quicksort contain 10000 distinct integer. I urge mr. professor to provide this question as an example with just 20 integer only along with answer. So that we can check our program answer with this example and after then we will solve it with 10000 integer.

Thanks for this informative explanation and i m happy to learn other part also.

Sorry for my bad english.

I dont know wether my feedback is right or wrong

but Its just a humble request from a student to a teacher

автор: Peter C

12 февр. 2017 г.

I was glad to get exposure to famous algorithms through this class, but I don't feel like I really developed an intuition for reasoning about their runtime. The class was challenging, but mostly for the wrong reasons. I spent more time and energy pouring over the answers to tricky quizzes and having to implement algorithms exactly as described in the lecture notes rather than really truly learning. It also took me much longer than the 4-8 hours per week advertised to complete each week.

автор: asem a

10 окт. 2019 г.

the course is great at the level of information , but has some issues:

1 - The sound of videos and instructor is not good.

2 - Some times the lectures were boring and not entertaining at all .

3 - you have to do an extra extra extra work to understand the related materials due to bad illustration during the course .

4 - if your math background is not ok or outdated don't rely on the course materials or the instructor illustration because they are not good

автор: Alex P

7 нояб. 2016 г.

It would be nice to see more examples especially were we have too many formulas. I still confused with probability.

Also hadwritting isnt really helping. I am most of the time decoding scripts. In addition he is reading the formula at one moment and in around 3-4 seconds it appears on the screen. So I kind of listening him while trying to read what is happening on the screen. horrible experience.

автор: Riqiang W

17 янв. 2018 г.

This is not very beginner-friendly course, and what made it worse is that all the videos are out of sync (I don't know why this problem has not been addressed for 5 years), and the instructor's speaking manner is not easy to follow for a foreigner. Also a lot of the subtitles are just wrong. Otherwise a great course, if you keep on it you can learn a lot.

автор: 伊洛

23 дек. 2017 г.

I do believe that feedbacks are very important during the learning section. Without feedbacks I would not understand whether I am doing ok or not. The Quiz and Homework would not handout the answer key and explanation after I have done. How am I suppose to be successful with the class if I don't understand which part I should strengthen.

автор: Sheng B

28 янв. 2019 г.

This is a good course. I recommend everyone to take it. There are many details useful for you to learn. But it is not friendly. The words the professor used are not easy to follow for a non-native English, the way the exercises are designed is not reasonable. It could have been better.

автор: Mike L

9 мая 2017 г.

The professor is very good. However, pictures and graphics mean a thousand words. These lectures rely too much on words. It makes it how to visualize the concepts. Hope to see more pictures. Animation will be the best.

автор: Joern K

9 авг. 2018 г.

Seems a bit dated, videos are reused from older courses and sometimes don't fit well together anymore. Content is great and lots of fun to work through.

автор: Daniel Y

7 нояб. 2020 г.

This course requires mathematical backgrounds. The professor talks super fast and sometimes he makes you asleep..

автор: Hardik A

22 дек. 2018 г.

Great course theory wise, but the programming problem is unrelated and gives too little practice

автор: David A

19 окт. 2020 г.

Audio out of sync, sometimes material climbs in difficulty without the climb in explanation imo.

автор: Neelesh K

25 апр. 2020 г.

The explanation could be better. The hand writing must be improved.

автор: Kamil K

5 окт. 2017 г.

Not practical enough, too academical approach for me.

автор: Wai C C

22 авг. 2020 г.

Too few examples but too many verbal explanations.

автор: Yash R

23 апр. 2020 г.

The course goes too fast and it skips the basics.

автор: Nishtha

20 июня 2020 г.

i want to unenroll in this course. how to do so

автор: Mubin A

2 мар. 2020 г.

concepts explanation need to improve

автор: Gangadharan V

4 июня 2017 г.

Good course