Chevron Left
Вернуться к Algorithmic Toolbox

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Algorithmic Toolbox от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 9,508
Рецензии: 2,021

О курсе

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Лучшие рецензии

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Фильтр по:

1401–1425 из 1,946 отзывов о курсе Algorithmic Toolbox

автор: Anmol C S

Aug 25, 2020

The course was excellent with the video explanations providing a solid foundation for working on the programming assignment questions. If I was to recommend anything it would be that maybe you can improve upon the video lectures for the divide and conquer section of the course as I had to read upon a lot of external sources to get the gist of the ideas discussed in this section.

автор: Rishi R

Feb 03, 2020

Coursera is one of the biggest online MOOC providers. it offers quality courses and specializations from world topmost universities and organizations. It offers courses in most popular subjects such as engineering, humanities, mathematics, business, computer science. I personally enjoyed this course a lot and recommend this for building a good strength in algorithms.

автор: SHUBH A

Jul 05, 2020

This is an informative course and has a lot of information. Most of the topics are taught well. Where I had the most problem was Dynamic Programming. It was a new thing for me and I had a hard time understanding it . Some concepts of DP are not taught that well, so I had to look up on youtube and different sites but in the end, I have gained a lot from this course.

автор: David B

Jul 18, 2020

I learned a lot about algorithms, but I honestly felt very, very hampered due to the degree that the course was based on Python fluency. I do know some Python, but this course really expects a lot more knowledge than I was led to believe when I signed up. I'm not sure if I'd recommend the course to anyone with less than a professional-level knowledge of Python.

автор: Monish T

Sep 18, 2019

The course has good material, but the programming assignment evaluation has some drawbacks. It returns back with error message saying 0 points as Test #34/70 failed without indicating what failed and what is the student supposed to correct. With these limited feedback it is very difficult to resolve the problem and score good on the programming assignments.

автор: David M

Aug 25, 2016

Overall I like this course. The beginning of the course was very light and easy to follow. As the concepts got more in-depth, the weeks (namely 4 and 5) felt rushed and somewhat incomplete. Regardless, having never been exposed to this type of material, and for the price, I would recommend this course to anyone looking to get their feet wet with algorithms.

автор: RAHUL B

Jun 01, 2020

This course is a very good course but according to the problems the mentor should give us more detailed information on topics so that we can improve our DP, greedy, divide and conquer approach. The given sessions are not sufficient to do real problems. Otherwise, I want to thank you to all mentors they teach us in a very brilliant way. Thank you so much.

автор: Vitaly P

Feb 10, 2018

It's a really good and challenging course.

High quality materials and assignments.

I would have given it 5 stars if the last week was explained a little bit better. I had a feeling they didn't put enough effort in the last week, at least not as much as in the first four.

Anyways, generally this is a really good course and I learned a lot! Recommended

автор: Akshay B

Jan 12, 2018

The course can be a little tough if you do not have a basic idea of algorithms but if you go through the recommended readings, it is a really fun course. The quiz between videos are relevant and make you think about what you just learned. The programming assignments are not tough but will ask you to rattle your brain. All in all a great course.

автор: Christopher R

Mar 08, 2017

Great exercises. My only complaint is the last 2 weeks, the instructors weren't visual enough. They kept using hand gestures and not enough concrete visualizations of some of the steps. There were a lot of concrete visualizations for the big ideas... but not enough for all the different material and intermediary steps they were trying to teach.

автор: Jennifer K

Jun 06, 2017

The material was very thorough and the programming exercises challenging. I liked how you could do the exercises in a choice of different programming languages - doing the exercises is necessary for really understanding the material. Some of the readings can be downloaded for free online (in earlier releases) and this is worth the trouble.

автор: Yefei W

Mar 28, 2016

Very instructive and informative, helps resolving many doubts.

Excellent examples and programming assignments, information provided by autograder is just about right.

I feel like the programming assignment is just a tad too relaxing, for dynamic programming for example, I think we need to complete 3 out of 5 in order to pass, not just two.

автор: Maximilian R

Jun 14, 2017

Overall, a very good course. Really its truly amazing that this course is pretty much language agnostic and you can use whatever you know or feel like. Really frees you from the esoteric details, to focus on the algorithms themselves. Do wish the last chapter on dynamic programming could have been better explained or split into 2 weeks.

автор: Sergey A S

Jul 30, 2016

The course gives a good overview on the algorithms types and problems, but it's cannot be used as standalone source of algorith,s learning. You should use good textbook as well.

The programming challenges are really interesting (and challenging), sometimes it took for me a couple of evenings to complete all five week assignments.

Thanks!

автор: Robin S S

Jan 13, 2020

I loved the difficulty of the problems throughout the course, and I was properly challenged at every step. However, I feel like the 5th and 6th week needed more thorough and clearer explanation on dynamic programming. The videos alone were not enough for me, and I had to lean on a fair number of external sources to learn the material.

автор: chirag t

Jul 01, 2018

Too much content I think all the type of algortihm are in one course like dynamic programming and greedy algorithm . This will take more time to complete and understanding. But still overall this course is very good . problem statement are good and forum will help in many ways. I have already completed 2-3 course offered by UCSD .

автор: Debwashis B

May 27, 2020

Dynamic Programming concepts should be improved. I have to see others videos for fulfilling the concepts. Knapsack tables or other tables essential for dynamic programming are not good in this course. It should include videos for a better understanding of how to code. Otherwise, this course design is very good and helpful. Thanks

автор: Vivek R

Jul 13, 2018

Programming Assignments are simply brilliant. However, explanations are not clear, partly due to the instructors language. Nonetheless i would recommend this course. (Note: My programming language was python. I don't know about other languages but don't take this course in C, if so you'll curse yourself for taking this course)

автор: Santiago P R

Sep 13, 2020

The course subjects are nice, and the problems are interesting, I only have a couple of issues. Dynamic Programming issues are poorly covered, not as the rest of the topics, and sometimes you struggle more with language-specific caveats than the problem itself, definitely, the programming language options should be wider

автор: Ananth C

May 13, 2018

Great course. Would rate 5* if there was more buildup along the lines of stress testing in the early assignments. Your code is only as good as the robustness of the testing. If you don't follow a test-driven methodology, you don't really have a solution even if you pass the grader. A great resource for the community.

автор: Moataz E

Jul 14, 2020

The course is really good and knowledgeable but I expect to see week discussing recursion with memorization and backtracking and I think it should be included in one of the two weeks of dynamic programming.

The assignments are really useful and some of them are difficult and most of them needs time more than stated

автор: Nimit J

Jul 22, 2020

I felt that the explanations related with Dynamic Programming were hard to understand and keep up with, i had to refer to external sources on the net and YouTube.

Apart from that i learned quite a lot from this course, their were many at times were i found the explanations really easy to understand and intuitive.

автор: Hitvardhan

Jun 08, 2020

I like the way the professors explained using real-world scenarios and toy examples. However, the dynamic programming section was a bit complicated and I had to watch additional youtube videos and read additional articles to fully grasp the concepts. The dynamic programming videos can be further improved.

автор: Chey Y

Jul 18, 2017

I thought this was a great course and the assignments were very fun. I needed a lot of outside reading to learn enough to complete the problems. It would have been great to have more resources that were deemed by the teachers to be useful. Overall I really loved it. Excited for the rest of the classes!

автор: rajat k a

Oct 16, 2017

the course was too good it changed my idea of thinking towards solving a problem it just lacked some support like test case error's does not notify us for which input our output goes wrong some time it passes a lot of test cases yet fails at last although it helped me how to figure out corner cases.