Chevron Left
Вернуться к Algorithmic Toolbox

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Algorithmic Toolbox от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 8,501
Рецензии: 1,795

О курсе

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Лучшие рецензии

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 1,721 отзывов о курсе Algorithmic Toolbox

автор: Kevin K

Aug 05, 2016

This course is well-designed and delivered by the experienced instructors. It is particularly suitable for those who have some basic knowledge in programming (knowing how to use if-else if-else statements, for-loop and while-loop, etc.; knowing a little bit how to write a simple code in C, C++, Python or others) and would like to enhance his programming techniques through polishing his logical thinking ability while he is designing a algorithm.

автор: Jonathan O

Aug 29, 2018

I love this course. Designing algorithms in the lectures and implementing them in the weekly assignments is not only rewarding and fun, but also engaging. The test cases applied to the algorithms in the assignments are comprehensive, looking for hard-to-find, yet very important, edge cases, meaning significant testing is required for each submission, mimicking the requirements of any algorithm used outside the classroom.

Well, on to course #2!

автор: Souvik R

Jul 23, 2017

So far the best course I have seen that actually teaches algorithms.This course not only explains you the algorithm but will also make you solve programming challenges based on the algorithms which requires you to look at the algorithm from a different perspective and then solve the challenge.This is what I loved the best about this course.I believe I am much better now in implementing algorithms and solving programming challenges.

автор: Taranpreet s

Dec 28, 2019

The best part of the course is Assignments, as only after trying to code the algorithms one can appreciate the content of the videos and reading Material. Conceptually Dynamic Programming(Weeek5,6) is the hardest to grasp. Assignment wise I found week 4 Divide and Conquer to be more challenging. For DP assignments, pseudo-code is given for most of the questions. Thanks to the instruction team for creating this wonderful course.

автор: Ananth D

Jan 27, 2020

The course content is very well designed, also the problems enhance your thinking and take it to a next level.

Also the explanations by all Professors is too good, when i repeatedly listen to the same lecture, i get greater clarity into the concepts. Thank you to all the Professors involved in teaching and designing the course.

I wish there could have some more links provided throwing clarity on of dynamic Programming.

автор: Samantha K

May 15, 2016

I would've never forced myself to learn to think recursively if it weren't for this course. As someone from a mechanical engineering discipline, with a minimal background in java programming, i was able to following along with this course and complete all assignments. The discussion boards and professor's lectures were particularly helpful along with the fact that I could download everything for viewing offline.

автор: Jan K

Mar 01, 2017

The best course I have done on Coursera. The authors have put together a great set of lectures and especially programming assignments, which really force you to think about what you are doing rather than go by trial and error. What's more, you can submit these in about a dozen commonly used programming languages so you can practise the language of your choice while learning about algorithms. Highly recommended!

автор: Mohamed A

Aug 26, 2019

amazing course. if you are looking to know fundamental algorithms like DP, Greedy, divide and conquer this course is amazing.

in my opinion, this course is essential for any software engineer but if you just started your way it is better to know how to write simple programmers and be confident with basic topics like loops, conditions ..etc

i recommend python for every body as a start if you have no knowledge

автор: Andre C

Jun 19, 2016

This course was a great introduction to algorithms. I am a novice programmer at best and had little to no knowledge about algorithms before this course. The concepts and programming assignments were challenging and I did not finish all of them the way I would have liked to but the challenge has made me more knowledgeable and a slightly better coder. Thank you. I will be taking data structures next.

автор: Alexander D

May 16, 2017

Great introductory course. Lots of details and interesting problem sets. Extremely quick responses with the discussion forum. Great help.

One suggestion would be to be a bit better at explaining things, especially the mathematical proofs. They are quick rigorous, yes, but more emphasis should be given on understanding why in simple, human language. Then we could go over the proof together.

автор: Alejandro O

Dec 30, 2017

This is the best algorithm course that I have taken, it has its problems but overall complete and the instructors guide you and seem to care for teaching well their subject.

I appreciate the work that you have done here for all of us interested to polish our skills and deepen our knowledge in algorithms.

Keep the good work guys.

*This opinion is based on the complete specialization

автор: ARELLANO, J (

Oct 06, 2019

This course is really helpful, at first I was submitting my cpp files for the projects and was having a hard time on having it on a passing grade. This course encouraged me to learn how to code using python. I have a hard time understanding the lessons but it's a good thing that I can just go back and play the video over and over again in order for me to understand each lessons.

автор: Karan R S

Jul 24, 2016

My programming and algorithm design greatly improved after taking this course. Through the advanced problem sets I was able to appreciate the finer aspects of efficient algorithm designing and I'm sure that I'll improve a lot with courses to come.

I would definitely recommend this course to any one who wishes to improve his/her skill set for designing efficient algorithms.

автор: Abhinav R

Mar 09, 2020

I think this was a great course wonderfully designed with tons of problem solving assignments.It challenged me a lot and I got to learn a lot of new concepts.The idea of dynamic programming always scared me but now I am quite connfident about it and looking forward to solve more problems based on dynamic programming and completing the next course of the specialization! :)

автор: PRANAV A

Jan 28, 2020

The course gives a very good insight on how different types of algorithms work, and at the same time lets us think of various ways in which they can be implemented, this really helps in building a very strong base in Algorithms which is absolutely necessary for learning advanced topics. I would really like to thank all the instructors for creating such an amazing course.

автор: Ashish K

Feb 06, 2017

The course is a great first course on algorithmic toolbox. I love the way the toolbox serves as a precursor to the more involved courses. In particular, the topic of stress testing is something that MOOCs don't cover in general and lead me to give up in my earlier MOOCs.

All in all, great job professors Sascha, Daniel, Neil, Michael and Pavel.

You guys are awesome.

автор: Nguyen V N M

Mar 03, 2017

The content of the course is so good. However, I think the lecturers can do better job if the have more visualisation for what they are saying. A lot of time, I felt that I couldn't follow what they was saying and then, I have to pause the video and look at the pseudo code, it much easier to understand. Btw, thanks a lot for providing such an awesome course.

автор: srivardhan

Mar 14, 2017

I really appreciate the way course contents are selected in each course of the specialization , It really gives a great conceptual clarity of all the topics .

I find a bit difficulty in understanding Big O notation so please try to give some more reference to understand it and also provide some general techniques to calculate it from just looking at code.

автор: Lasha K

Jul 14, 2019

Having several years of developing enterprise applications, I have really enjoyed my struggle with some assignments. Lectures are great and I want to thank all of the lecturers for their work and patience while working with all of us in Forums. For sure, I have learnt a lot from this course and recommend it to anyone who wants to dive into algorithms.

автор: Alejandro G

Oct 07, 2019

Excellent course, I learned a lot of new things, I'm starting in the real programming world and this course helped me to learn a lot. I had to do a lot of research in dynamic programming because I wasn't used to solve algorithms of that level and some videos were hard to understand for me, but it actually was quite fun and I really want to continue.

автор: Naveen V

Oct 17, 2017

The course provides a solid foundation in understanding algorithms. The lectures, slides and supplemental resources are thoughtfully crafted and were effective in teaching the concepts . The programming assignments provided an avenue to understand and implement the algorithm. Mentors and peers provided ample support through discussions in forums.

автор: ABHISHEK K K

Nov 01, 2018

It was an amazing experience with University of California San Diego & National Research University Higher School of Economics and also all the assignment were very enjoying. I have learned a lot after completing this course. I will be highly thankful to this university and my instructors for providing me this opportunity. Thank you again !!!

автор: Yash B

Dec 15, 2017

Really good course. Sometimes the accent is a problem but thanks to the subscripts its easily understandable. In general although the course is really good and I learned a lot from it, I found that the course lacks the flow most other coursera courses have as in this the professors keep changing and some have really hard to understand accents.

автор: Yiğit A T

Jul 19, 2018

Great course covering on material needed to analyse and come up with algorithms. I already took a course about Algorithms in my Universtiy but this one helped me refresh the knowledge and add up more in-depth understanding on the topic on top of my previous knowledge. I am really grateful to have come across this course. Thank you very much!

автор: Aleksandr F

Aug 23, 2016

Overall it is a great course, the most challenging part was to understand the optional prove of the Master theorem. I believe that this course and the whole specialization is all about learning not only the mandatory material of the course, but also the whole optional material provided. Thanks to all the instructors for their hard work!