Chevron Left
Вернуться к Algorithmic Toolbox

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Algorithmic Toolbox от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 11,101
Рецензии: 2,360

О курсе

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Лучшие рецензии

SG
19 янв. 2017 г.

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD
19 янв. 2021 г.

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Фильтр по:

2226–2250 из 2,305 отзывов о курсе Algorithmic Toolbox

автор: Apurv A S

5 апр. 2020 г.

The assignment questions were very tough

автор: HARSH S G

31 июля 2020 г.

Can be made a bit easy to understand.

автор: Sawan P

29 июня 2020 г.

Video Explaination should be improved

автор: Aarjesh R

2 сент. 2021 г.

Explanation could have been better.

автор: Jitendra S

13 авг. 2017 г.

Need to more practise question

автор: Bijoy D

15 июня 2020 г.

explanations are not so good

автор: Nicolas E

26 окт. 2016 г.

A little light on the theory

автор: Aryan V

7 июля 2019 г.

subtitle donot work on pc

автор: Alan Z

17 мая 2018 г.

Not well designed course

автор: aparna b

26 июня 2021 г.

a good source to learn

автор: harshit s

21 июня 2020 г.

not good for begineers

автор: Ashwin M

15 мая 2020 г.

Advanced for beginners

автор: Shivangi G

30 авг. 2021 г.

very useful topic

автор: 刘晓菡

2 мар. 2018 г.

kind of difficult

автор: Leon C

22 сент. 2017 г.

Feel not great

автор: Yi L

27 мая 2019 г.

继续努力

автор: MOHAN K R

16 авг. 2021 г.

Ooh

автор: 321910302014 g

20 нояб. 2020 г.

ok

автор: Zhongyu K

13 мая 2016 г.

Even though this course covers a lot fundamentals for introduction to algorithm, the course itself is not designed as good as I expected. For starters, the weekly problem designs aren't very good. Some problem statements are ambiguous and not very clear unless you read more than one time or take a closer look at the examples. Often, the input format/arguments are designed to take redundant info. Some problem even has more than one possible correct outputs, which is just confusing for learning purpose.

In terms of lecture videos, it's good that there are some classic algorithm problems being demonstrated in the video, however the linkage between how to express a problem in mathematical languages is poorly explained. For example, in the lecture of edit distance, the realization of the matrix was not well explained at all. I personally appreciate a lot of the thorough proving steps introduced in the lectures, however I personally think the proofs are often not well explained to the audience (I also understand that it's more difficult to explain proving steps). Considering the large variety of audience, I would recommend the instructors separate the comprehensive more in-depth knowledge into optional videos, in this way the audiences could decide if they want to spend time in optional videos or not based on their own needs, meanwhile the instructors could spend a little bit more time to explain the difficult concepts better. Overall, I know that talking and analyzing algorithms can be kinda of boring and challenging, but I wish the course videos could be stated in a more interesting and intriguing way.

автор: VICTOR A

26 апр. 2016 г.

The course starts very promising, but it gets worse week after week, culminating on a barely understandable week about dynamic programming. That’s when I gave up and decided to write this review instead, with just one assignment missing to complete the course.

Some of the teachers aren’t native english speakers, which is fine, but their english is very hard to understand. I found myself having to watch some portions of the videos over and over again in order to understand what was being said. I tried reading the transcripts instead, but the they’re even worse! It seems that they were automatically generated from the videos, thus suffering with the poor pronunciation.

The teachers use mathematical sophistication that feels unnecessary, but to be fair, they do mention it on the FAQ as part of the necessary background. However, even though it’s an online course, they barely use any teaching method besides very raw slides, some dry mathematical proofs and someone speaking about the content. The only resources offered to help learning are a few open source visualizations. I expected much more.

The only good aspect from this course are the assignment checkers, which allow you to write your solutions in multiple languages.

I deeply regret the money and time I spent on this course.

автор: Ryu P

18 мая 2021 г.

This course needs some serious care. The lectures are sometimes understandable, but when they aren't, they are extremely difficult to understand if at all understandable. The lecturers seem very lifeless and read from a prompt with no emphasis on actual important parts. After each lecture, I knew I would have to go to Youtube to get a much clearer explanation from Stanford Algorithms, mycodeschool, or anything else that actually explains the problem in a clear way. The language used is worse than a textbook and they anticipate no confusion among the students. I love reading textbooks and I chose this course because I thought it would be nicer, I was very wrong. The robotic presentation along with minimal effort to provide clarity truly makes this course nearly worthless. The programming problems in the course are classic and known to be useful/fundamental, yet they seem to not know how to present them in a way that is clear. The very last week is the most un-explained, so watch out and try to look for anything online to help explain it, the instructors barely do.

автор: Maram N I

12 окт. 2021 г.

The course lectures need more examples on the explained ideas to get understood. The only strength point of the course is the quizzes and assignments although they require a very good understanding for solving, which isn't provided enough in the lectures. The first two -or maybe three- weeks of this course are the best, but from the fourth week I found a great difficulty to understand anything from the lectures and searched a lot to be able to solve the assignments. The final part, which is the dynamic programming, was sadly the worst of the course. I didn't understand most of its lectures and found a huge difficulty to solve its assignments. Overall, I surely have learned new ideas, but much less than expected.

автор: Supharerk T

21 мая 2016 г.

Update: As I proceed to wk 5, I know why there are some complaint on Dynamic programming,

Reduced to 2 stars. Lectures are totally useless for the assignment,

The course is really good until week 4 when it deteriorates very quick. No matter how many times I re-watch the lecture, I can't understand much. I ended up using wikipedia for the quiz instead :P

I can't use much of the course forum since there are too many posts there and it keep crashing my chrome.

This course gets my 3 stars from the first 3 weeks alone, otherwise it gonna be 0-2 stars.

автор: Ayan P

24 сент. 2020 г.

I started the course to gain knowledge in algorithms but I am disappointed. Of course there are lots of assignments to do which kind of upgrade your skills. But I am disappointed with the way of explanation. The explanations are just like reading scripts. Also, they don't give the problem statement properly. I assignments, you would find the title of the problem but not the actual problem statement.

The instructors are very knowledgeable but I don't think their explanations are right up to the mark, at least not for me.

автор: Rayeed R (

9 нояб. 2020 г.

Course started out great but as time went on the quality kept dropping. Week 3 is where it started to go bad for me. The instructor kept jumbling words up and explanation was really poor. Later weeks most of the algorithms weren't properly explained and you have to actually google stuff and read and learn everything pretty much independently from elsewhere if you want to code up the problems. The blind test cases were really weird because you have no clue what went wrong and where it went wrong.