Chevron Left
Вернуться к Эра Джефферсона

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Эра Джефферсона от партнера Виргинский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 363
Рецензии: 119

О курсе

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

Лучшие рецензии

HM

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL

Jul 30, 2020

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 117 отзывов о курсе Эра Джефферсона

автор: Manuela E

Oct 02, 2015

Being Australian, I knew nothing about Jefferson so I came to this course with no expectations. I found it fascinating as it explained not only about Jefferson but about the American model of Government and Americans unique view of their nation. It is sometimes puzzling to an outsider to see this super nationalism and allegiance to the Constitution and Declaration of Independence. As an aside, I wonder what Jefferson would think of the apparent obsession with the literal words of the Founding Fathers with respect to things like gun control. Very interesting indeed.

Mr Onuf is an excellent lecturer. You brought the topic alive

Thanks

автор: Paul A L

Jul 30, 2020

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

автор: Anujay S

Jul 24, 2020

Dear Mr. Onuf and Jim, I hope you're both doing well and in good health. To all the readers of this review, I'm a student of Comparative Constitutional Law and Constitutional History, a law graduate primarily with great involvement in student leadership and drafting of policies. This course has been exceptionally helpful for my understanding of Jefferson and an important part of American History, especially Constitutional History. In my opinion, this course is a MUST for everyone and is designed beautifully with exceptional efforts. This course has taught me a lot about Jefferson and American History that I will never forget and strengthened my already existing views on the Constitution and Equality, especially on Slavery, Women, Sunset Clauses, Generational Sovereignty, Jeffersonian view on Education, Religion and many more things. I'm immensely happy to have taken this course and completed it. It was also great doing this course after doing courses on Constitutional Law from both Coursera and my own alma maters. I hope to take some of these ideas forward in my approach towards life.

автор: Aubrey P

Oct 01, 2017

This was an awesome class because of the teaching methods, use, discussion and analysis of a variety of primary sources documents to dig deeper int understanding Thomas Jefferson, the man, plantation-slave owner, the politician and his thoughts about education and religion. It was very balanced in historical approach. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about understanding all elements that Jefferson pulled into the writing of the Declaration of independence.

автор: Charles E M

May 09, 2018

Thanks to this course I understand a great of the legacy of President Thomas Jefferson, and why my first cousin seven times removed, Congressman Thomas Wynns of North Carolina, was such a staunch supporter of this president. Thomas Wynns helped to begin the University of North Carolina at Chapel H

автор: Ilanka

Sep 01, 2018

I enjoyed the course, though initially I expected more factual information. It's more of an emotional overview and, surprisingly, it allowed me to get a feel of that epoch. Lots of issues I found answers to. Great thanks to the entire team that worked to put this course together!

автор: Amanda D

Jun 17, 2017

This was a great course. It was very informative and enjoyable. I liked the professor a lot. I am American and thought I knew a lot about Jefferson already, but this course really helped me consider the man from a lot of different angles and gave me a lot to think about.

автор: H. M

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

автор: Shirley K

Jul 18, 2020

what a great course! being a native Virginian, I knew a lot of Jefferson but there was a few little nuggets of info I didn't know. thank you for this interesting course!

автор: Margaret C

Mar 11, 2017

Really insightful course giving a really amazing insight to the past political climate of the US, but also really shedding light on the current climate as well.

автор: Sharon I

Jun 12, 2017

I learned so much about Thomas Jefferson and his actual views and role in the Declaration of Independence. This course also helped me to form my own view of the issue of Mr. Jefferson and slave ownership that I can also apply with other Founding Fathers. This brief course has made me a better history teacher as well and I was happy to be able to share my new understandings with my students this past school year. It was especially satisfying to learn from a professor who is expert in this field and from the very university that Jefferson founded.

автор: Michael H

Apr 25, 2017

Jefferson is a fascinating, controversial, brilliant, and hugely important figure - unquestionably a "Founding Father", if you will - in our nation's history. Professor Onuf brings to light the key aspects of Jefferson's thinking, work and accomplishments, prompting this course participant to want to further explore all that he did, the challenges, and especially the people, who he was up against, his relationship with Sally Hemings and how that influenced his views regarding slavery, and much more.

автор: Becky E

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent class! This is an overview of who Jefferson was, what he really thought and believed in, what his contradictions were and why they existed, and how the perception of him has changed through different historical periods. I thought I knew a reasonable amount of information about Jefferson and the revolutionary period, but I learned so much about the historical and cultural context of the time and how it shaped Jefferson's thoughts!

Given our current judicial system's split over whether the constitution should be regarded according to the 'originalist' intention or whether it is a living document, I was surprised to find that Jefferson himself saw it as a living document, to be reshaped by each generation. Understanding why he thought that is really essential to understanding how to think about the problem today. So this isn't just history, it's current events!

I was concerned that the course seemed to be all lecture, but by the second week I was hooked. Dr Onuf is a compelling speaker, and tries to convey who Jefferson was, the world he existed in, and get you to think about Jefferson in all his complexity. The reading material is all pertinent, and (thank you!) not overwhelming. This course is "right-sized" for an online forum. I think you could spend about an our or maybe two per week on the lectures and reading material, and do fine. You would do yourself a favor to view each lecture twice though, as there is a lot of material in each one.

I would consider retaking the course for review, and would definitely take another course from Dr. Onuf. This was terrific, and I don't say that lightly.

автор: Robyn J

Oct 08, 2017

Mr. Onuf's knowledgeable, impassioned presentation, together with the readings provided me with so much. At age 57, this was my first look at the Declaration of Independence and other important historical events. The material both challenged and encouraged me and I highly recommend this course. It's sad that we are not learning this as part of our primary education, which is where it should begin in earnest. I am looking forward to more courses on Jefferson and other history courses and would love very much to a student of Mr. Onuf's again. I am looking forward to receiving more information on the courses offered at UVA.

автор: Ashley J B

Apr 07, 2020

Articulate, insightful, balanced, and a tremendous examination of the mindset of Jefferson and the principles which shaped his perspective. It incorporated a fantastic use of primary sources along with beautifully relevant cinematography on the grounds of the University of Virginia and Monticello, providing an inspired digital classroom setting. The Age of Jefferson is a valuable overview into complex subjects explained in a comprehensible, compelling scholarly manner - a phenomenal presentation and launching point for a deeper exploration into Jefferson's rationale, motivating factors, and his hopes for our republic.

автор: David H

Aug 17, 2020

I found this course very enlightening and full of facts and ideas about who Thomas Jefferson was. I learned about a topic that I really knew next to nothing and now have a good understanding and knowledge of Jefferson. Anyone wanting to learn about the creation of the USA should and would gain valuable knowledge from this course. Mr. Onuf was a pleasure to learn from and he was so focused and had an easy way of capturing my full attention. I enjoyed the entire experience immensely. Well done and Thank You.

автор: Mark G

Aug 28, 2020

Terrific course on every level. Fascinating subject that Professor Onuf brought to life with passion and energy. I totally enjoyed every minute of every lecture. I have historically (pun intended) focused on European and Ancient history. Sadly I know less about US History, even as a citizen. However, Professor Onuf and this course drive to me learn more. The Age of Jefferson was the perfect starting point and a catalyst to dig deeper. Also, Thank You Coursera!

автор: George G B I

Sep 21, 2020

INCREDIBLE COURSE!!! I live across the mountain in Staunton, and am launching a podcast on the life, times, and works of Edgar Allan Poe - this course helped me so much with understanding more about Poe's experience at UVA - almost as though I was seeing UVA though Poe's eyes - and more importantly, the instructor's understanding (and ability to convey) Jeffersonian concepts really expanded my view of our country's purpose and development.

автор: Marco B

Oct 06, 2016

Great Course! A profound analysis of Jefferson ideal and wish for the nation to be. This course demonstrate how great, clever and wise Jefferson was. Now I can better understand what JFK said during a Nobel prize winner reunion at the White House: This is the highest concentration of intelligent in this house since Jefferson had dinner alone. Thank you for sharing this course on the net.

автор: Karolina D

Sep 13, 2020

Very interesting and vivid course. The wide range of information was presented at different location when they provided additional insight which constituted a creative twist and engaged the student much more. The lectures were energetic and engaging which encouraged students to participate and listen attentively throughout the entire course.

автор: Dana C

Jun 21, 2017

One of the most thought provoking classes I have ever taken. Professor is very interesting and promotes looking at Jefferson with new eyes. I was challenged and I really enthralled by the class and it helped me to contrast Jefferson and Hamilton better to understand the conflict between them. Bravo!! I would take the class again anytime.

автор: Pedro D M

Jul 22, 2020

Muy interesante la forma en la que pensaba y actuaba uno de los padres fundadores más importantes de la cultura norteamericana.

No solo con lo que tiene en cuenta con la Declaración de Independencia sino con la vida americana del siglo XVIII y XIX, y cómo con su ayuda intentó salvaguardar las libertades de los ciudadanos y los jóvenes.

автор: Kathleen S

Jan 12, 2018

The professor is an excellent and entertaining lecturer...very compelling look at Jefferson, his life, and his accomplishments. I'm very happy the educators did not shy away from the more distasteful aspects of Jefferson's life (i.e. his being a slaveholder). There was also a good mix of lecture, q & a, and campus tours of UVA. I re

автор: Marcos V M d S

Jul 19, 2017

I really enjoy and learn about the ideas of Thomas Jefferson about the American revolution, the Constitution, the malaise of slavery of those days, the importance of education to keep alive the principles of that Revolution and what means The Earth belongs to the living".

Thanks professor Onuf. The course was simple Outstanding!!!